The Next Chapter

7421358064_b7c9cc9416

Little man ended the first chapter of his schooling journey today…

Technically he left nursery in July but due to his difficulties we felt that it would be beneficial for him to attend the nursery for one full day a week to remain familiar with the learning environment, that way it would ease the transition into school. It was also a bit of respite for me. It meant that I could wander into town, go and have a coffee without fear of S having a meltdown.

He raced into the nursery this morning clutching his gift for his special teacher, a box of chocolates for the rest of the staff and of course, a treat for the children, his friends. Despite us constantly telling him that it was a ‘thank you for being lovely’ gift, he still ran in shouting “It’s your birthday today, Teacher V!”

We wanted him to enjoy his last day, so we didn’t linger about and I’m proud of myself that I didn’t cry when I gave him a kiss goodbye.

I wrote about school yesterday and how I’m dreading next Tuesday but today there’s been a heaviness in my heart because this wonderful chapter in his life is coming to an end. Despite his difficulties in the early days.. he’s settled and thrived in a loving atmosphere. We chose the nursery over others, which were a lot more modern, simply because it felt right. The first time I saw the manager (Teacher L), she was comforting a child in her arms. She’d a lovely smile and twinkling eyes. I will never forget her kindness and support with S. It was obvious that she loved the children in her care. Sadly she announced her retirement just before the Easter holiday. I joked with her that S had finished her off but she looked at me, smiled and said, “I would fill this room full of children like S if I could, it’s been a pleasure to teach him”.

I said, “We are talking about the same child here?”

Little man seemed to cope fairly well with the new manager apart from one incident where Teacher L turned up for a impromptu visit and it did his head in. As in, he took it literally that he would never see Teacher L again so when she walked in he picked up a chair and threw it at her. It’s things like this that drive it home to me that my child is different…

When we went to pick him up, Teacher V had already left, which I was a little sad about because I wanted to thank her for all her help and support with S over the last year.

He was irritable and he wanted me to hold him. For some reason his trousers were on the wrong way round. I’m pretty sure they were on the right way when he arrived there but he sometimes strips off when he goes to the loo. No idea why.

I suppose I’d better get used to seeing his clothes on back to front because children are encouraged to dress themselves at school and I remember C & K coming home with jumpers on back to front, inside out and not always their own.

S didn’t want to give hugs or kisses to anybody and he wouldn’t make eye contact. He was tired and exceedingly grumpy. He did not want to give the nursery manager, (Teacher T), a hug or a kiss despite her requests. That’s how S is so we didn’t see the point in distressing him further, so we said goodbye and walked through the door for the last time.

I didn’t cry…

As we walked down the street we passed a group of young lads on bikes. We were just about to turn the corner when one of them shouted.

” SCUSE ME MISSUS…DO YOU KNOW THAT YOUR KID’S GOT HIS TROUSERS ON THE WRONG WAY ROUND?”

I smiled, nodded and muttered, “So does everybody else now thanks to you and yer big gob!”

Teacher T gave us S’s ‘Learning Journey’, two books recording his progress at nursery from when he started in September 2012 until last Friday. We went through them when we got home. Both have his photograph on the front but in the first one when he started nursery, his expression was guarded, as were most of them throughout that first book. In the second book he is smiling on the front and all the way through. He is happy. He’s thrived in a loving atmosphere. We made the right choice…the photographs prove that.

That’s the moment that I cried.

But it’s OK…little man was elsewhere hammering the crap out of some Play Dough, so he didn’t see me blarting.

I don’t know what the future holds for little man but I will never forget the teachers who gave him this wonderful start in life.

So as one chapter ends…another begins.

The best teachers teach from the heart, not from the book.  ~Author Unknown

Image source

15 thoughts on “The Next Chapter

  1. Sounds like it went well and you did amazingly to hold off the tears until back home – don’t think I could have done! You obviously did make the best choice in nursery for him and it really paid off, I bet those smiles in the photographs brought you a huge burst of happiness :-). xx

  2. Oh Tracy, what a day, you new it was coming and today was the day. They say a Mothers Intuition is always right and you proved that by sending S to the right nursery for him and his needs.
    It’s both sad & good, a chapter past, never to come back but there is a future and next step for S. knowing what you have told us, it’s not going to be an easy ride but if any parent is there for the best of their child it is you Tracy.
    Sit back now, smile, remember happy memories and enjoy a bloody well deserved drink….Tues is not far away.
    Love you and you brilliant mothering skills with S, you & Fred should be very proud parents
    Xxxxxx

  3. The right nursery makes every difference, I remember all too well. Sounds like S has not been only well cared for but loved and nurtured – how wonderful 🙂 May his school experience be even half as good!

  4. Big hugs for you and S Sis and I’m very sorry that I never seen this post sooner.

    I love your blog and reading all about your adventures with your boys and family. S is such a special little boy and I love him a little bit more with every post I read. He is my nephew after all 😉

    I’m sorry that you were sad about him finishing nursery. It sounds like an amazing place and just what S needed. His ‘Learning Journal’ sound brilliant and just show how far he has come since he started. I hope that, eventually, school will be the same happy, loving and, most importantly, understanding place that nursery was for him. I’m very proud of your little man.

    I’m also very proud of you Sis, for being the best mum that S could have wished for and for being so strong. You are incredible and I wish you weren’t so far away so I could hug you and let you cry in my shoulder and pour lots of much needed alcohol down your neck!! *hugs*

    Don’t hesitate to rant, cry and get it all out on Tuesday as I know that this day will be equally, if not more difficult than yesterday and I’ll be on Twitter waiting for you my beautiful big sister. I love you lots xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

