Settling In

DSCF0008a (800x715) (2)

S is now half way through his third week at school and, on the whole, it’s a positive report.

There were two weeks of transition. The first was until dinnertime and the second week included dinnertime. This week, being the third, has been full time.

Last week my concern was that he wouldn’t cope with dinner time, I struggled with this at school. The overwhelming noise and smells were too much for me. So I was concerned about how S would cope, but I needn’t have worried because Mrs C had it all in hand. She took pictures of him in the hall at dinnertime to reassure me and he looked fine. On closer inspection, I noticed that he had his ‘special’ pencil case with the pictures on, (Mrs C made this for him so that he always knows what he is going to be doing next). Also on the table was a number, as Mrs C knows that numbers are his obsession, strength and comfort. Also the hall wasn’t as full as I’d imagined it would be…

S has a little book which is for Mrs C and us to write in. She tells us about his day, more so his accomplishments. It’s a very positive book. It’s full of bright stickers which are another of his obsessions. He comes out with them all over his jumper as well!

Little man has had a few days where he’s struggled but mostly we’ve copped for it picking him up and on the way home but I’ve found a way to distract him…I’ve child proofed my old tablet and he can play Numberjacks on it. The word ‘Numberjacks’ calms him down if you do it before he goes into meltdown mode, It’s proving to be a lifesaver for me!

We had a meeting last Friday with SENCO and Mrs B, (the reception teacher). This was basically to go over his IEP, (Individual Education Plan). It was a very positive meeting, Mrs B had a few funny stories to tell us about S and I’m glad that, like us, he makes them laugh too because he is a likeable child. They all seem fairly convinced that he will receive the statement. But we have no complaints of how they have been working with him so far, in fact we are delighted!

This week he started full-time and we knew that this was always going to be difficult because S, like most other 4 year old’s, gets tired in the afternoon. So we have had a few erm, eventful days, put it that way. Yesterday he sat in the corridor with Mrs C and listened to the assembly going on in the hall. It will be a long while before he is able to tolerate the experience itself but for now he’s happy enough to look on.

So little man is officially ‘corridor king’ at 4 years old!

Unfortunately his school week stops here because he’s caught the tummy bug that I’ve had. He’s spent today lying on the sofa, covered in a blanket and surrounded by his beloved numbers. I hate this part of parenting because it means that I have to see my child in pain and as with most viruses, there isn’t much that I can do to stop it. I did however have masses of cuddles and a bottle of Calpol on standby. I had to suffer children’s TV for most of the day, but it was a small price to pay to give him a little comfort. I did manage to get a couple of hours of Sharon, Tracy and Dorian in Birds of a Feather when he fell asleep. Alas, he woke up when Bergerac came on and it was back to the cartoons.

I phoned school this morning and gave them the regretful news that S won’t be in until next week and I might have been imagining it, but I think I heard someone WHOOP in the background! Mrs C did look a bit frazzled when we picked him up yesterday…maybe it’s exhaustion of two and a half weeks of one to one with our cherub or maybe the poor soul is about to come down with the lurgy herself!

So we’ll see what next week brings…

13 thoughts on “Settling In

  1. Your boy is a little star. You must be so proud of him. I know it’s really hard for you both but he’s doing it. Mrs C sounds like an angel and exactly what he needs at school. I’m so glad he got a good report and it put your mind at rest a little bit. Photos are really good and his book, I still love this idea.
    I’m sad that he’s poorly today and that he’s missed school when he probably needs it both. I hope he’s feeling better soon.
    Love you Sis xxx

    • Ta Sis,
      It will be another day on the sofa tomorrow but as long as I get to watch something other than flippin Cartoonito at some point, I’ll survive lol
      He’s doing great at school…really pleased with how it’s going. šŸ˜‰
      Thank you lovely lady xXxXx

  2. Hey T, this is good to read. I know it’s still early days and hopefully it will last and obviously it’s made you brighter too.
    Hope little man gets better soon, xx

    All ok my end, my C is very tired now after started college and continuing with the school placement as well…he’s often in bed by 9.30!

    Take care xx

    • Thanks L,
      I’m just happy to know that they are doing their best for him. I couldn’t ask for anything more.
      In bed by 9.30? C really MUST be tired!
      Thank you lovely lady xXx

    • Thanks to the wonder of technology, this is the case Aunty M. šŸ˜‰
      So now you need to start an Aussie blog. šŸ˜‰
      Love you loads xXxXx

  3. He’s been doing absolutely brilliantly, but he does sound like one of the lucky ones who have staff who actually a) listen to the parents and b) give a damn. Long may his school happiness continue. And get well soon T before Mumma loses the plot over the cartoons!

    • LOL šŸ˜‰
      And thanks šŸ™‚
      Yes.. we think we made the best choice with the school. He could have gone to the one across the road but this one that he’s in had the better reputation for special needs. The staff are lovely. xXx

  4. and that makes the world of difference.

    C’s eyes are drooping by 5pm!
    Anyway, must dash. Important business to attend to.
    Toffee waffles and a cup of tea. I must be careful or my arse will grow as big as yours!

    You have a relative in OZ? I still miss my time in Perth šŸ˜¦

  5. First time I tried them. Half price so thought they were worth a try. They’re thin and crispy and they are nice,

    You ever tried them?

    • No but the word toffee and waffle is enough to put me off because I only eat potato waffles! I know…I’m never right hehe
      They do sound like something that Damien might like though…..

Leave a Reply

