Gratitude

3828578759_d3ca7ea210

Despite our initial concerns about S starting school he has thrived and continues to do so. To date he has earned not one, but two Headmaster’s Awards! The awards, for numeracy and for sitting still, (an achievement for S), are fantastic in their own right. The added factor for me is the fact that he personally went up in assembly to receive them. My only sadness is that we were not there to witness it.

Everyday I wake up and silently thank my lucky stars for what the school is doing for our little boy. These people genuinely care about him. Being away from him for six hours a day is hard, but it comforts me to know that he is with people who love him, maybe not as we love him, but love none the less.

Little man is known in and around the school. Not a day goes by without somebody saying hello to him. Sometimes he can only manage a grunt in response but they seem to take it in their stride.

After weeks of desensitisation we are now able to walk onto the playground. S chucks his bags at me and runs along the figure of eight ‘road’ that’s painted on the floor for the bikes. He does this every day, it’s part of his routine. If for any reason we can’t do this he becomes upset – and audibly so! The older children stand there and hi-five him as he whizzes past. If anybody, (child or adult), stands on this road, therefore hindering his whizzing, he stands and stares at them until they realise and move!

Mrs C meets us every morning and she’s always smiling. It’s nearly half-term and she still hasn’t quit! Not only that but Mrs B, the reception teacher, (wears really nice tops), hasn’t been admitted into a secure unit yet! I was certain that one of them would be weaving baskets by now!

I’ll have a shed load of whatever they’re on please!

Aside from her duty of care for S, Mrs C never fails to ask how we are doing. She knows I struggle with crowded areas, and she is supportive of my need to stand back from elbow wielding yummy mummies and pushchairs galore –  I am so thankful for this, she’s an amazing lady.

Mrs C told us something this morning that melted my heart. It’s something that I’ve been thinking about all day…it’s beautiful…

She said that S fell over in the playground yesterday. It was a ‘man down’ situation, as in he lay on the ground and wouldn’t get up. So Mrs C went and lay down on the floor with him. Then the headmaster, who happened to be on the yard, also went and lay down on the floor next to him. Children carried on playing around this scene as if there was nothing unusual about it at all. After a while Mrs C said to him “Shall we go and play again?” and with that S got up and ran off to play. Situation defused!

How wonderful is that?

These days I try to focus on the positives in life. Maybe it’s an age thing or maybe losing my parents really brought it home to me that life is transient, so why waste something so precious on the stuff that doesn’t really matter. Instead of dwelling on the bad things that people say or do I try to think about the good things. I think about two teachers selflessly lying on a cold and dirty playground floor in order to comfort a child – my son.

This is the big stuff – the stuff that really matters!

I have a lump in my throat as I’m typing this… The depth of gratitude that I feel for these people is something that I struggle to express in words. No matter what the results of the ongoing assessment brings I know he’s in the right place – with the right people and that is a weight off my mind.

The other night I lay in the bath and listened to my boy’s angelic(ish) voice, singing a song of love and caring for others and I’m not ashamed to say that the tears mingled with the bubbles but they weren’t sad tears, oh no, they were the tears of a mother who has gratitude in her heart.

“At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us.”~ Albert Schweitzer

Photo Credit

12 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Oh how heart warming was this blog Tracy…….all positives and NO negatives. Somebody was watching you when they lead you to this school with little S. a few weeks ago you could have never even imagined writing such a blog.
    I LOVE MRS C & THE HEAD TEACHER. They had the understanding to defuse the situation before it got out of hand….perhaps they can start on cloud watching lessons.
    I am so proud of how you have all handled what seemed the impossible…..you know S is safe here for the next few years and at the moment that is all that counts.
    During the day….Tracy has a life & time to do things that we all take for granted.
    CONGRATULATIONS to each & everybody who loves & cares for little Mr S.
    Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Awww I love my little buddy and I’m so proud of him. He’s a little diamond.

    I am so glad that S is able to go to this school and have such a lovely helper as Mrs C, she seems to understand him so well. It must help you as well, know they are so good with him. It really made me smile when you said they booth lay down with him. That’s special!!

    What a beautiful loving, happy post 🙂 xxx

  3. I have tears blurring my eyes writing this. If you ever had any doubts that this was the right school for S then I can tell you don’t have them any more. What a fantastic level of love and understanding. Wow.

  4. Such a moving post (do I always say that?!). Really, how incredible that the school and teachers are so perfectly suited to your son and know exactly what to do to make him feel at ease and keep him happy. You must be so relieved and delighted with them all.
    I also admire your focus on the positive things in life, so important and great to do – but not always easy. xx

    • It’s a mainstream school and we were told that it has a good reputation for their work with children who have learning difficulties…I fully understand why it has this reputation now. 🙂
      Thank you for your lovely comment. 🙂 xXx

  5. This is lovely.

    I’m about to send him a choccy bar from Spain. Others tell me it’s blooming horrid so I’ll send an English one in too! xxxxx

  6. It’s so nice to hear about teachers doing what they do best. … teaching and empathising with children instead of being crippled by government targets and bound by statistics.

    Such a lovely post x

Leave a Reply

