Forever Autumn

5412667005_76560ca532_z

I love autumn. I love everything about the season.

Being born in the middle of July, you’d be forgiven for thinking that summer was my favourite season but for as long as I can remember, it’s been autumn. For me, it’s the most interesting time of the year. It’s also cooler which most menopausal ladies (like myself) will appreciate having spent the summer loitering in the chilled section of the supermarket.

This summer has been hot. Too hot for some and not hot enough for those with asbestos for skin.

But we’re Brits and we do love a good whinge about the weather. If whinging about the weather was an Olympic sport, we’d win gold every time.

But summer has taken her final bow. The flies have buzzed off and it’s time for autumn to take to the stage with her flamboyant style.

I could bang on about autumn until, well, winter but I’m on a word count so I’ll keep it brief (ish)

If life can be divided into seasons, I would say that the childhood years are spring – a time of birth and growth. Then with the child producing years comes summer, so the natural menopause must mean autumn. I am 44 and post-menopausal. I feel deciduous, as in, there is more hair on my brush than on my head.

The winter years are the home run. If you’re lucky, you will have remained compos mentis. I wouldn’t mind reaching a grand old age if I can hold onto my marbles but given that this week I tried to give the dog Cheerios instead of Bakers and used gravy granules instead of coffee – I’m not holding by breath. I will be the old dear who flashes her support tights on an hourly basis and thinks that Thatcher is still prime minister.

Menopausal women have a lot in common with autumn with their own hues mirroring the season.

Browns (the hair dye which covers the rapidly greying hair)

Reds (the face during a hot flush),

Yellows (a flogged out liver due to excessive gin consumption)

Orange (overdoing the fake tan – but this applies to summers as well, and maybe springs if their crazy mama’s enter them into a beauty pageant at the age of three).

I’m joking. Sort of.

Like the menopause, autumn is a time of great change.

Mother Nature invites you to pull on your walking boots with the promise of an awe inspiring display of colour.

The wisps of smoke coming from chimneys make me stop and sniff the breeze like demented Meerkat. It makes me think about ‘ye olde’ pubs with a roaring fire and a decent pint but I mostly have to make do with tea out of a flask.

Then there’s the rustling sound as my boots plough through the piles of newly fallen leaves.

Here I must add a cautionary note about kicking leaves…

I was having an autumnal kick about in the leaves the other week. The fun police (aka other half) said to me, “I’d be careful if I were you, you don’t know what’s under those leaves!”. I snorted and carried on kicking with abandon. Within seconds my boot came up and with it a huge mound of dog poo. My autumnal walk was marred by having to scrape my way along the grass for the next few hundred yards – much to OH’s amusement. Oh how he laughed. Git.

Let this be a lesson to you. Think before you kick!!!

Autumn is the most exciting season. Aside from ol’ Ma Nature doing her thing with the trees and stuff, there is Halloween – the most charming of celebrations where one’s sweetie stash is massively depleted by little monsters threatening vengeance if their buckets are not filled with cavity inducing confectionery. I’ve taken to answering the door with no make up on – that trumps any scary costume they can come up with. Muhaha

Then there is Bonfire night, though it should be called Bonfire Nights as it is spread across the entire month. Most children love it and most pet owners hate it because BANG BANG BANG SQUEAL WHOOSH BANG equals doggy bodily fluids all over the lino.

As a child, I associated the smell of smoke with Bonfire night. As an adult, it’s shit.

After Bonfire night, we’re on the annoying countdown to a visit from the fat man and his huge sack. *coughs*

But for now, it’s just lovely to admire the show.

To stand in the woods and watch thousands of leaves float down like snow is a wonderful experience. There is beauty everywhere, so get out there and enjoy it. Unplug the kids (and yourselves) from electronic paraphernalia and go out into the countryside and explore!

Metaphorically – my life is in this beautiful season, or at least that’s how I see it. Autumn is a time of reflection and reaping the fruits of your labours. I delight in the success my grown up sons are making of their lives and as for my little man? Well he’s my Indian summer. Time will tell where his talents lie but all I know is that he brings sunshine to my days. All of them do in their own special ways.

I’d love to see winter but only if I can still appreciate it’s beauty, if not, I’ll settle for autumn, forever.

β€œSpring passes and one remembers one’s innocence.
Summer passes and one remembers one’s exuberance.
Autumn passes and one remembers one’s reverence.
Winter passes and one remembers one’s perseverance.”

Yoko Ono

Image by Antonia Foy

mumturnedmom

 

19 thoughts on “Forever Autumn

  1. Fab post. I love autumn and I love seeing the kids kick through the leaves. Much like your OH I also warned Janet she doesn’t know what lies beneath back in 2012. Her dog poo moment is yet to come, but it will, and when it does I’ll love nothing more than saying “I told you so!”

  2. I love autumn too and I love the way you’ve compared it to the different seasons of your life. I hope you have a long and vibrant autumn of your years with no lurking dog poos (either metaphorical or actual!) xx

  3. I love this, what a wonderful way to look at the seasons. I’m with you on Autumn, for the leaves and the beauty, but also the time of reflection (and the hair on my brush!). Another fabulous post, the dog poo incident made me laugh, I say the same to the boys all the time! Thanks so much for linking to #ThePrompt and apologies for being a bit late commenting, Halloween and my in-laws arriving scuppered yesterday!

  4. Hi Tracy another great blog, although with your great photography skills I would have loved to have seen a photo of S and the dog running through a woodland of leaves, please try harder next time!!!

    We went out for a ride today, 31st October and in the car at 2.45pm I took a photo of the car dashboard, no I’ve not lost the plot, I just wanted to capture the temperature of 21 degrees!

    I always remember a saying that heard Colleen Nolan say on *Loose Women* one day and thought how true…..she said “Autumn is the only month that does what it says on the tin” and I thought YES!
    In autumn the leaves will always change colour and drop off the trees don’t they but can we guarantee snow at winter, no. Do we always get sun in summer, no. Now let’s think about spring, that can have a heat wave or be knee deep in snow.

    I like the darker evenings, I light my smelly candles and watch good dramas on tv in my comfy pj’s.

    Ps…..here comes the moans from me, I hate Halloween, yes I buy sweets in but never allowed my kids to go trick or treating. It’s just another Americanism that we have taken on board. Hey children, don’t talk to strangers for 364 days of the year but in this night, go knock on doors and take things from people you don’t know! As for fireworks, for safety reasons, I think it should be done in displays only, who the hell has got Β£10 for one big ew & ar and then it’s over??? Also, it would stop fireworks day changing from just the nearest weekend to the whole bloody month!!!

    Happy days from me…….xxxxxx

  5. Thank you Tracy for being able to copy my reply, when my techno skills were lacking. Just to let you all know, these words came from my mouth and Tracy’s not that desperate that she is replying to herself…….thank you my dear friend. Xxx

  6. Your post evoked so many smells & emotions. Bonfire night as a child was brilliant, sparklers in the back garden, Dad outside whilst mum was inside watching from the window! But the smell is something that stays! As for kicking the dog poo, that made me laugh…and also think twice! #theprompt

  7. I always grumpily say I don’t like Autumn (or Winter!) but I do find each year that I love the colours of Autumn as it all changes from green to reds and goldens and I just love it when it’s a really mild Autumn. Love the analogy with menopause!

Leave a Reply

