Blog On

3893586483_c3de2fd6e7_z

The rather lovely Alison over at Rubbish Wife has most generously nominated my lil ol’ blog for an award. Yes, an award!

What is it?

The Liebster is basically an award for bloggers, by bloggers. There are trillions of blogs in the blogosphere but many (like mine) have a modest following. If the blogosphere was the sea, I’d be plankton!

The Liebster award shines the spotlight on our humble blogs and as awards go, I think it’s the best one out there. Not because it’s the only award my blog has ever been nominated for (or is likely to be) but because it reminds people that the small blogs are well worth a read. I’ve been blogging for a few years now and my face lights up when someone follows me. Not because I’m about followers (I’m not) but because it’s nice to know that someone actually wants to read my ramblings. The fact that one of those followers chose to nominate me because I made her laugh is reward enough for me. Do take a look at Alison’s website. She’s a bit good in the kitchen and scrolling through her fabulous recipes will have you re-thinking the sad looking fish-fingers and chips you’re about to serve up!

I started this blog after my mum died as a way of working through my grief. She died unexpectedly and I found myself in a bit of a shit-hole, mentally. I had to channel my grief into something productive before I ended up being carted off by the men in white suits. So Mummyshambles was created and it saved me from complete and utter lunacy.

What do you have to do?

It’s customary with these awards to nominate other blogs. It’s a chain thingy. I think my pelvic floor will collapse if I don’t keep it going. Oh wait, that’s already happened…

Of course, I’m joking. It’s just about bloggers showing fellow bloggers some love and giving their blogs some well deserved attention. So I’m nominating some blogs which have made me laugh, educated me or inspired me.

So in no particular order, my nominations are…

*stands poised, golden envelope in sweaty hands, pouts at the camera for longer than is necessary*

Starring G G tells it as it is. It’s real life, warts and all. Diverse and informative. Love it and so will you.

Just Good Enough Mum A wonderful blog by a wonderful lady who blogs about her life looking after her family and autism.

Starring Stella Stella blogs about her life as a wife and mum. She’s creative. She’s also a fantastic cook. Her posts inspire me to get off my arse and bake something.

Mark, Sonny and Luca Mark is a stay at home dad to two boys and writes to maintain some level of sanity. He writes with such humour that you’re in danger of choking on your toast, as I almost did!

These Are Grandma’s Thoughts A lovely blog filled with ‘funny, sometimes serious and sometimes sad’ thoughts of a young at heart grandma.

liebster5The nominator has to set some questions for the nominees to answer so here are Alison’s to me.

Tea or tipple? Pre-menopause, I’d have said tipple. Now I can only manage a pint of beer before falling into a coma. So I’ll say tea.

Which three words sum you up? Hormonally challenged idiot.

What would be number one on your bucket list? Getting locked in the potting shed with Alan Titchmarsh.

Tattoos..yay or nay? Yay because I have one (a small one on my back) nay to the head to toe tattooed look which looks like they’ve slept on a road atlas.

The last supper: What would you choose? Marmite on toast. Deal with it, people!

Snog, Marry, Avoid: who’s the weird crush you’d put on your laminate list. BE HONEST

Snog – Nick Rhodes. Not quite as pretty as he was in the 80’s but I still would. *puckers up*

Marry – Alan Titchmarsh. Yorkshire’s finest who can lay a decent patio. I actually got married a few weeks ago and waited for him to burst through the registry office door saying ‘Doont marry ‘im lass, marry uz!’ He mustn’t have got my e-mail. :/

Avoid – Gary Lineker – he’ll pinch yer crisps.

Nickname, what’s yours? Pootle. Actually, it isn’t. I don’t have one but if I could choose one, Pootle would be it.

Super-power for a day: what would you go for? Invisibility. The only super power that any self-respecting nosy git could ever want.

City break or beach babe? I’m a menopausal agoraphobic so neither.

If you could be famous, what would you like to be famous for? Finding a cure for menopausal insanity that doesn’t involve using horse piss.

Thanks. Alison, for these questions. You know a little bit more about me. aren’t you SO glad you asked?

Now it’s my turn to ask my nominees some questions. Muhaha.

1. Why did you start a blog?

2. What is your favourite quote of all time?

3. Has anybody ever told you you look like a celebrity? If so, who? (who do you look like, not who told you, obvs)

4. What is your favourite post that you’ve written? (provide link)

5. Name five people, alive or dead, that you’d like to meet.

6. Do you believe in ghosts?

7. If you were a character from a movie, who would you be?

8. What book would you want to be stranded on a desert island with?

9. Name your guilty celebrity crush.

10. Happiness is….

And that’s it. There are all kinds of ‘rules’ about Liebster floating about but to keep it simple you..

1. Thank whoever nominated you and link back to them.

2.  Swipe the Liebster image from their site and paste it onto yours.

3. Answer their probing questions as honestly or dishonestly as you see fit.

4. Choose people to nominate (should be blogs with followers of less then 200)

5. Ask them some probing questions

6. When your post is done, leave them a message on their blog (or Twitter) to let them know they’ve been nominated.

Bask in the knowledge that you just spread some love.

3120877348_5130705a52_z

Image Credit via Flickr by Davidlohr Bueso

Image credit Via Flickr by Sarah Reid

5 thoughts on “Blog On

  1. Completely overwhelmed. Have I mentioned I lufs you? I have? Mentions it again and sends a crate of beer.

    Oh lord, now I have to think of questions! *runs away for 48 hours*

    xxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

