Finding The Magic

3461116582_4cc12d4558_z

“Magic exists. Who can doubt it, when there are rainbows and wildflowers, the music of the wind and the silence of the stars? Anyone who has loved has been touched by magic. It is such a simple and such an extraordinary part of the lives we live.”~ Nora Roberts

How do you see the world?

Do your eyes simply see what’s there or can you see beyond it?

I see beyond what’s there, I always have.

What is magic?

To some people magic is merely the art of illusion.

It’s Dynamo walking on water outside the Houses of Parliament or David Blaine whacking somebody’s mobile phone into a bottle of beer. These magicians conjure up the impossible with the art of deception.

To others, magic is Harry Potter whipping out his ward to fend off the Dementors but the real magic is in J K Rowling’s writing which comes from her extraordinary imagination.

There is another kind of magic which it’s all around us if only we take the time to look.  It’s is the magic that makes you happy even when you’re doing the most mundane of tasks, like cleaning the loo.

For those who are still with me (the others having long since hit the X button thinking ‘Off you go, Nutjob’) allow me to explain…

The magic that I’m talking about is a feeling.

All you have to do to feel the magic is open your mind to the possibility of it.

It’s about taking the mundane and giving it some sparkle and who doesn’t like a bit of sparkle?

Household Tasks

Washing the dishes is a mundane task. It’s a job that OH hates so much that he actually bought a dishwasher so he wouldn’t have to, the lazy git!

I do use it to do the heavily soiled stuff but most days I fill the washing up bowl with bubbles and add a few drops of essential oil. I use grapefruit because it’s uplifting. A few sniffs and my mood lifts and I lose myself in the suds. It puts me in an almost meditative state and what was once a boring job has become a pleasurable experience.

Meditation isn’t all about sitting cross-legged and omming, y’know. 😉

The trick is to be in the present. I try not to think about anything except what I am doing. Though my mind naturally wants to wander ( I have major mind traffic) I consciously drag it back the now. When I’m done faffing, I leave the water in the bowl to allow the essential oils to keep doing their stuff.

Similarly I clean the bathroom with a few drops of oil. I use lemon myrtle spray around the toilet (and up the walls) as the males of the house seemingly have out of control hose-pipes for penises and are prone to missing the entire toilet! Inhaling man wee makes me feel grumpy (not to mention, squiffy) but after a few squirts of my myrtle, it’s like they’ve never been in.

OK, maybe loo cleaning is stretching the concept of magic a bit but it is definitely an improvement, no?

Books

I read books that inspire me and if the cover is aesthetically pleasing, then all the better! All part of being a visual person..

I like books that have me thinking long after I’ve turned the last page. I imagine how the characters look and for that reason I tend not to watch the films because they so often disappoint me. The Harry Potter books are an exception as the films actually do justice to J K Rowling’s excellent writing.

I don’t believe in the kind of magic in my books. But I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book. ~ J K Rowling

Music

I listen to music that speaks to my soul, whether it’s rock, pop or classical. I allow my imagination to run riot with music where there are no lyrics to influence my mind. As far back as I can remember this has been the case.. as a little girl I used to listen to Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake and images would flow uninterpreted into my mind, I could lose myself for hours this way..

Music is the strongest form of magic. ~ Marylin Manson

Mr Manson, you may scare small kids with your face but you are absolutely right!

Film and TV

I have a mild form of synaesthesia and this would explain why I am unable to watch horror. All violence affects me but I can’t cope with watching horror films. If I see an upsetting image, it affects me for weeks or months after and I never forget it. For this reason I stay away from the news as much as possible. Similarly, I am just as deeply affected by good news and feel good films and TV.

I like to watch films that remind me of how fortunate I am to be alive and which inspire me to be a better person.

One of my all time favourites is Frank Capra’s It’s A Wonderful Life  because it reminds me that as insignificant as we think we are, our lives have purpose. It’s a timeless classic that leaves it’s mark on each generation.

Each man’s life touches so many other lives, and when he isn’t around he leaves an awful hole, doesn’t he? ~ Clarence, the angel in It’s A Wonderful Life

See The Magic

We come into the world with our magic buttons switched on. We find joy in the simplest of things and everything is new and magical but somewhere along the way we lose it. We allow other people’s world views to influence our own, even if it’s not what we truly believe. We allow stress to take over and before we know it we are weighed down with worry and the magic is long forgotten.

I’m not saying that we should all abandon our common sense and call ourselves Moonbeam (although if calling yourself Moonbeam floats your boat, then you should go ahead and call yourself Moonbeam and bugger what people think) it’s just that a little sprinkling of magic makes life more bearable.

In it’s simplest terms, it’s about finding meaning to life.

Some people believe life has no meaning and if that’s you – fair enough – but there is just too much going on for me to ever agree with it.

For me, it’s about seeing and feeling beyond what can be physically seen and felt.

Sound wanky?

Maybe but it works for me.

That magic button? It’s still there. You just need to turn it back on.

To remind yourself of how it’s done – watch your children because they see the magic that is all around them.

Children see magic because they look for it. ~ Christopher Moore

Image Credit OUCHCharley Via Creative Commons

A Bit Of Everything

 

17 thoughts on “Finding The Magic

  1. Really enjoyed this blog Tracy, especially your good tips about using essential oils to help mundane tasks! My main magic is losing myself in books but I’m thinking my type of books (happy ever after) make real life seem a bit shit! Totally agree that the best form of magic is through youngsters, their eyes have the ability to say it all…….and then of course the things that come out of their mouths, that’s just bloody brilliant at times! Maybe you have to be in the mood for personal magic and I’m just not feeling it at the moment, perhaps I’m a bit low or rundown but my main feeling is panic/stress/worry at having the perfect December. I seem to have so much packed into it this year and actually all I want to do is hide away and say can we have December in a couple of months time please. It’s not because of present shopping, that’s mainly done……perhaps it’s because my mind wants the magical Christmas and that just doesn’t feel attainable to me at the moment. This isn’t meant to be a feel sorry for me reply, it’s just a honest *unmagical* answer.
    Big loves Tracy 😘xxxxxxxxxxx

    • Aww lovely, the perfect Christmas doesn’t exist. It’s unattainable because there are other people involved lol. Do what you can. Nobody expects you to go all out after the year you’ve had. Don’t fret about things. Put your feet up and watch some crappy Christmas movies with some chocolate. Maybe something hot with a nip in it. I’d be havin a nip myself if it wasn’t for picking S up 🙂
      Keep things realistic…downsize a little. Your lovely family will be grateful if you served them festive beans on toast, I’m sure. Big hugs and magical vibes. P.S. I know you like scented candles but you don’t get the therapeutic affect affect. Try some uplifting essential oils, in a burner as well and see if it helps you. Much love, dear lady xxxxxxxxxx

  2. I never thought to use essential oils for cleaning. Thank you for that great tip! I have it on my list now of things to buy when I get paid. Magic is in all of us and it is all around us. I believe that all things are possible. Having a son who is a budding scientist has helped remind me of this. Most people don’t think Science and Magic go together but to me, they do. When I think about the Universe and watch shows on TV about the Universe and read books that my 8 yr old brings home from school about Space, I can’t help but think of the magic behind it and with that, all things are possible. Great Post! I’m really glad I read it. You reminded me to be more open to Magic! Visiting from #abitofeverything

  3. I never feel the magic in household tasks (although your description of the magic you find there might inspire me!), but I feel it in books and nature. And definitely, as you say, when watching my toddler watch the world. Thanks for inspiring me to seek out more of it 🙂 #abitofeverything

  4. I;m not so sure about magic in household tasks, my only wish for that is I wish there’s some form of magic to clean up my home with a swoosh! That being said, there’s magic in everything we do…just ask a child! And my children has open up my eyes to magic that I didn’t even care for. 🙂 Love your post! #abitofeverything

  5. I’d never considered magic in the washing up bowl, but then I do insist on always doing the washing up so I can put some music on and escape the madness elsewhere. I’m the same with the cooking. There you go, I’m a master of mindfulness without even knowing it!

    Fab post, and definitely not wanky, otherwise I’ll have to put wanky on my CV under Hobbies & Interests and that might not go down well.

  6. Oh hon what a gorgeous post! You are so right, there is magic everywhere, but it’s easily lost in the midst of this rollercoaster we call life! Loving the new look blog too whoop woooo xx

  7. Oooohhh, I love the magic in your post – so true- you find magic in whatever calls out to you. I can so relate about books and music – I am immediately transported away and I feel refreshed after that. But sad to say, I don’t think I can ever see the magic in household chores. Thank you for linking up with #abitofeverything

Leave a Reply

